Jean Hélion

From September 20th to November 10th, the Alain Margaron gallery will feature for the first time a one-man show consecrated to Jean Hélion (1904-1987). Fifty-some works on canvas and paper will be presented, works he created between 1928...

Galerie Alain Margaron , Paris

From 20 September 2018 to 10 November 2018

From September 20th to November 10th, the Alain Margaron gallery will feature for the first time a one-man show consecrated to Jean Hélion (1904-1987).  Fifty-some works on canvas and paper will be presented, works he created between 1928 and 1983, the year when he lost his sight and had to stop painting.  The accent will be placed on later works which are particularly interesting, though badly understood.

 

We also have edited a book, “Jean Hélion, the purpose of drawings” by Henry-Claude Cousseau (Alain Margaron editor, 164 pages, and 95 reproductions).

 

This book and the exposition are the first steps in a long-term engagement for the Gallery in relation with the painter’s family, to promote the work of Hélion, one of the great artists of the 20th Century.

Jean Hélion

La galerie Alain Margaron consacre, du 20 septembre au 10 novembre 2018, une première exposition individuelle à Jean Hélion (1904-1987) avec une cinquantaine d’œuvres sur toile ou papier réalisées entre 1928 et 1983, l’année où, aveugle, il a...

Galerie Alain Margaron , Paris

Du 20 septembre 2018 au 10 novembre 2018

La galerie Alain Margaron consacre, du 20 septembre au 10 novembre 2018, une première exposition individuelle à Jean Hélion (1904-1987) avec une cinquantaine d’œuvres sur toile ou papier réalisées entre 1928 et 1983, l’année où, aveugle, il a dû s’arrêter de peindre. Nous mettrons l’accent sur les dernières décennies encore mal comprises mais particulièrement intéressantes.

Parallèlement, nous éditons un livre Jean Hélion, le dessein du dessin de Henry-Claude Cousseau (Alain Margaron Éditeur, 164 pages, 95 reproductions).

Ce livre et cette exposition sont les premiers jalons d’un engagement à long terme de la galerie, en relation étroite avec la famille du peintre, pour mieux faire connaître et aimer l’œuvre de l’un des grands artistes du XXème siècle.